Volvo Penta MD2020 dumped all coolant in bilge under engine

TimfromMersea

Boat at West Mersea, Essex. Live in Wivenhoe, Esse
Visit site
My 2002 Beneteau Oceanis 281 has a Volvo Penta MD2020. I bought the boat new, and for the first seven or eight years I had the Volvo dealer service the engine every year, including winterising and spring recommissioning, then I used a local highly regarded ‘one man band’ marine engineer to do the same jobs.

On Monday last we found the bilge full of green coolant after our sail. The engine did not overheat and in fact we thought it might be running cooler than normal, as the domestic hot water from the calorifier was not as hot as it usually gets. The engine had clearly dumped all its coolant.

I’m a lawyer, not an engineer…….so I asked the marine engineer we use to take a look. He found that the cooling system was still full, so we think that raw salt water has got into the system somehow - he says most likely through a leak in the heat exchanger letting raw water into the cooling system.

He has dismantled the heat exchanger and taken the core off to pressure test it, which he believes may find the leak,

My concern is that the VP website seems to say that a new core for that engine is not available any more, and ‘has been replaced by a different part’. Might I have to buy a whole new heat exchanger, at VP’s legendarily expensive spares prices? In which case it won’t be worth it on a 22 year old engine, I might as well have a new engine fitted, which will then do for me until I’m in my box (I’m 70 this year……)

Am I misreading the website, and a new heat exchanger core is in fact available?

The marine engineer says they can be repaired sometimes. Does anyone please know a firm that can repair them?

Thanks!

Last edited:

Beneteau381

Visit site